Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams: ARC Review

Blurb:

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.


Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?


Click to Buy on Amazon:

.

About the Author:

I'm the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that's one tiny way I can make it so. I'm one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

Social Media Links:

 photo facebook_128.png photo twitter_128.png photo goodreads_128.png photo blogger_128.png

Review by Michelle:

Every now and then I love a good YA read, especially after a particularly intense book, whenever I want a pick me up, or even just to reminisce. A feel good read that immerses you in all the trials and tribulations of young adulting and reminds you of all the ambiguity and discovery of growing up, all while filling you with hope, love, joy, and wonder. Trusting You and Other Lies is the perfect book for any or all of these applications.

The quintessential teenage story featuring a young woman resenting her parents, struggling with maturity and doing what's right, making plenty of misguided mistakes, questioning relationships, and dealing with an overabundance of feelings of just about every kind. Ah, the good old days, right? This engrossing and soulful story is one of learning and growth, relating and coming to terms, acceptance and love.

Phoenix is a teen with responsibility far beyond her pay grade, an axe to grind, and a good dose of bitterness and hard feelings. She is also an amazingly strong, determined, ambitious, and caring girl with courage and confidence for days. Whether you are a teen yourself or simply remember those days well, there is plenty of Phoenix's story to empathize with, to relate to, and to learn from.

Phoenix meets Callum at camp the summer before her senior year. Callum is pretty incredible himself and, while he may need a little care and guidance, brings a whole lot to the table in the way of captivation, inspiration, maturity, and enlightenment. The perfect mysterious hero, Callum is guarded and reserved yet sensitive and passionate, handsome and rugged, and enigmatic and intriguing.

Unlike some stories with more than a few supporting characters, each and every character in this story is just as significant and enthralling as Phoenix and Callum. From Phoenix's wise beyond his years little brother, Harry, to Phoenix's complicated and often misunderstood parents, Ben, the head honcho and resident hippie of the camp, and even Evan, the somewhat annoying, totally unabashed, and terribly persistent counselor that doesn't seem to understand the word no. Every character is sure to grab your attention and keep you invested while begging to learn more about each.

A sweet, fun, and easy read tackling the teenage angst of familial bonds, trust, dishonesty, good intentions, and growing up without being too heavy, tempestuous, or overdramatic. The perfect balance of entertaining and heartwarming, Trusting You and Other Lies will transport you, delight you, and just make you feel good.

*complimentary copy provided by publisher for an honest review

Rating: 4.5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment