Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Three Brothers by Nicole Williams: Review Tour


Blurb:

I grew up with three brothers. They weren’t tied to me by blood, but our connection went beyond genetics or bearing the same last name. Our connection was forged the summer I turned thirteen, the summer my mom ended her life and left me in the custody of John Armstrong, a man I’d never met. Packing all I owned in a couple of boxes, I left the familiarity of the big city and headed west to Red Mountain Ranch, set in a lonely valley outside of Jackson Hole.

Nothing was as it seemed at Red Mountain—it didn’t take long for me to figure that out. John was kind to me but distant, as if he was afraid to let anyone get too close. His three teenage sons had their own devices for keeping love as far away as they could. The eldest distracted himself with cheap relationships that had a shelf-life of one night. The middle son threw himself into the rigor of running a ranch, and the third wielded cruelty and mind-games in his quest to keep people from getting close.

Time has gone by, and I’ve spent those years trying to forget the brother I’d fallen for—the biggest mistake of my life.

Finally, I’ve moved on. Finally, I’m back. But what I didn’t realize was that running away from the wrong brother meant I’d also run away from the right one. The one who’d been there for me all along, waiting in his brother’s shadow for the day I either would or could move on.

But a decade is a long time to wait. Has the brother I should have chosen all of those years ago moved on too? Am I about to discover that my biggest mistake wasn’t falling in love with the wrong brother, but failing to return the love of the right one sooner?

Does unrequited love have an expiration date?

I’m about to find out.

Author’s Note: This book is a “sweet” romance that isn’t overly sexy. Fans of Lost & Found will be interested in Three Brothers.


Click to Buy on Amazon:


About the Author:

I'm the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that's one tiny way I can make it so. I'm one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

Social Media Links:

 photo facebook_128.png photo twitter_128.png photo goodreads_128.png photo blogger_128.png

Review by Michelle:

Nicole Williams is the author of some of my favorite books. There are certain things that you can always count on when picking up one of her books. It will be beautifully written with flowing, exquisitely detailed descriptions that really draw you in and make you feel as though you are truly a part of the book, it will have some of the most engaging and alluring characters that will make you fall in love instantly and never want to let them go, and also a unique and absorbing story that captivates you from the very first page and stays with you long after you have finished. Three Brothers is no different. It is a beautiful, sweet, inspirational story that will ensnare you immediately and enchant you the whole way through.

After the first few profound paragraphs you know that you are in for an insightful, powerful journey. I was completely enthralled by the numerous pearls of wisdom, the extensive food for thought, and the pure eloquence in the story and the story telling instantaneously.

Scout leaves the home of her teenage years to escape a mistake and her heartbreaking reason for having to return seven years later immerses you in her story full of sorrow, grief, guilt and regret immediately. What she finds is three of the four men she loves dearly but had felt compelled to leave behind have now been completely and totally changed by loss, destruction, and devastation. The dynamic between Scout and the brothers as well as amongst the brothers was fascinating. Every bond is so very different, so intriguing, and exactly right for each character making me take in each word as fast as I could, greedily devouring the story in order to learn each tidbit as quickly as possible.

To say I was slightly frustrated with this book would be an understatement. It actually frustrated the hell out of me, but only in the best possible way. I loved the two main characters, was so connected with them, and only wanted the best for them that I was as invested in them as much as if they were old friends. This of course made me want to slap them numerous times, tell them to wake up, grow up, face the truth that is flashing like a neon sign in front of them and put me out of my anxious misery waiting for an epiphany, the acceptance, and the admittance of the inevitable to come. This brought with it plenty of heart palpitations and highly anticipatory close calls, but when two stubborn and determined characters have their mind set on holding themselves back things can get real frustrating, real fast.

All this plus a shocking and unbelievable twist that grows larger and larger, gaining momentum, and snowballing into a massive revelation and ending that will leave you reeling. This stunning story alone was enough for me to fall in love, but as a sucker for plot twists and surprises, I just loved this addition. You really have everything you could ask for in this story.

Three Brothers is a moving story about living each day to the fullest, not taking anything or anyone in your life for granted, and acknowledging and embracing love despite the risks. Not your typical spicy love story, yet it is just as exhilarating while completely original and honest, thought provoking and impactful. Truly a spectacular story that can, and will, easily become a part of you.

Rating: 5 Stars



No comments:

Post a Comment